Valentines Flowers

12 Feb

This could be fun for a lot of different occasions like birthdays, shower favours etc simply by choosing different colours and even changing the size of the flower.  Since Valentine’s Day is literally around the corner I decided to make these flowers for my daughters Kindergarten class.

I got the idea from LiveLaughFoodCraft, who got the idea from Disney Family Fun.

I didn’t take any pics of the progress, sorry, but I did make a few changes based on the materials I had available to me.

I used red tissue paper and did 4 layers of paper.  I cut the squares 4.5″ the same as in the first tutorial and this worked perfect because my tissue paper was just the right size to make 5 flowers from each sheet.

I didn’t have any pipe cleaners on hand and since I was giving this to kindergarten kids, I didn’t really want to use any wire though I did consider twist ties at one point.  I used string instead.

Since I wasn’t using pipe cleaner or wire I needed something to attach the flowers to the suckers.  I happened to have some florist tape on hand so I just wound that around the string and sucker stick making sure that I wrapped a little bit of the flower to the stick as well to make it a bit sturdier.

And voila! 15 cute little valentine flowers for my daughter’s class!  I still need to get her to sign some little cards to attach to each one but there are still a couple of days. 🙂

Just to recap my materials:

red tissue paper
lollipops or suckers (I got heart-shaped ones at the bulk store)
string
florist tape
scissors

I also added heart-shaped cards so my daughter could write who they were from.

Donna Giroux is an independent crafter living in Ontario, Canada with her husband and two children.

You can find more of her writing about recycling materials, and reconstructing clothing at Punkn’

Leave a Reply

